The Ultramagnetic MC's History / Bio

The Ultramagnetic MC's are a rap group whose members included Kool Keith, Ced Gee, TR Love, Moe Love and later Tim Dog. Their work was associated with unorthodox sampling, polysyllabic rhymes, and bizarre lyrical imagery.

The group formed in 1984. Many believe that without the group's primary producer, Ced Gee, the sound and samples, mostly James Brown, would not have been as prominent. Their worldwide buzz started with "Ego Trippin'", their 12" single on Next Plateau Records in 1986 which featured the infamous "Substitution" drum break sample, but their break-out single was "Funky/Mentally Mad", one of the most sought 12" singles of their career. It was released in 1987. This led to the release of the album, Critical Beatdown.

The Ultramagnetic MC's released a new school classic in 1988, Critical Beatdown, with typical James Brown samples. However, they disappeared after that for several years. They returned on Mercury Records in 1992, with the album Funk Your Head Up. 1993's The Four Horsemen was considered extremely strange though still brilliant. It was the last album the Ultramagnetic MC's released.

There were several semi-legitimate and compilation albums to follow, many with outtakes or older material not released (such as The B-Sides Companion). In 2001, they released a single, "Make It Rain/Mix It Down" which whetted fans' appetites for a reunion album.

The Ultramagnetic MC's launched the career of self-proclaimed "Bronx Nigga" Tim Dog who brought out the very successful single "Fuck Compton". Kool Keith and Tim Dog reunited on the Ultramagnetic MC's semi-reunion album Big Time. Kool Keith went on to record many solo CDs, including one as Dr. Octagon. His abstract rhymes influenced many rappers, including Pharoahe Monch from Organized Konfusion.

In a December 9, 2005 interview on Houston's Late Nite Snax radio show, Kool Keith confirmed rumours that the Ultramagnetic MC's had reformed and recorded a new album. Founding Ultramagnetic MCs member Ced Gee has set up Factshen Records. A new Ultramagnetic MCs LP, Back To The Future—The Bronx Kings Are Back, is scheduled to be released in 2006. It features the original line-up of Kool Keith, Ced Gee, Moe Love, TR Love, Tim Dog, and newcomer Grafiq Malachi Sebek.


No comments: